EC&I 831, Learning project ECI 831

granny square, granny square, what’s wrong with you?

My learning project is progressing.  I can’t say smoothly.

I was going back and forth between videos and written instructions.  This is because the video moves too fast for me- or too slow in some cases.  Some people clearly have created these things simply to hear themselves talk.

This is the video that I finally decided upon.  The music will grow on you I promise.  I found videos that last anywhere from 5 minutes to 25 minutes to complete the same task.  This one was somewhere in between, which is really why it became a main contender.  I don’t want to sit and listen for 10 minutes about why you took up crocheting on your own, or why you prefer one solid colour to the starburst pattern.  I am not a patient person that way, and just want to get to what I want to learn.  I also struggle with videos that have kids crying in the background, dogs barking, etc.

The pace on this video was good for where I am at.  If I hadn’t yet figured out the chain stitch and the double crochet stitch pretty decently, then I would really have struggled with the pace for these directions.  I find the videos helpful because I can just pause them until I catch up, although, like I said, this one worked out pretty well with the exception of the corners initially.  I have heard people say that the granny square is the first crocheting that they have done.  Not impossible, but I would suggest if you are learning it through a video, that I would start with the double crochet before attempting the granny square.

In the last few weeks I have been able to get the hang of both single and double crochet stitches.  As of late I have been tackling the granny square.  (Below is the photo of what it should look like, completed in one colour.)

Image result for granny square
Credit

According to many websites, It’s really easy to crochet a granny square.

I wouldn’t be bold enough to say they were lying- however easy is a relative term.  I will agree insofar as to say that it is getting easier.

To begin, I wasn’t able to get a square.  I was working more on a granny round.

I’m not going to lie.  It took many attempts to get a square going.

Even after finishing one full round and making a corner to start the next round, I continued to struggle to get onto the next round.  Once I discovered that my mistake was in the corner turn, it worked out.  Eventually, I was able to make it work out and complete one.

The stitches aren’t hard once you’ve figured it out, however getting the right tension remains slightly elusive for me. If it weren’t so frustrating, I could see how this would be a relaxing pass time!

This week I am going to complete my granny square Christmas dishcloth- wish me luck!

1 thought on “granny square, granny square, what’s wrong with you?”

Leave a Reply

